From the Emside Out's Blog

Life just started, it seems, so let's figure it out together.

Oh my! August 16, 2009

Filed under: I call myself a home chef — fromdeemsideout @ 12:40 pm

Yesterday I took a long nap, so I was up much later than normal. I decided, sometime while I was cooking supper, that I was going to make a pound cake later. I set out my butter and eggs, because it’s better if both are at room temp before baking. After messing around in my art room a little while, I began the cake. I must tell you….my birthday is Friday and my very favorite cake in the world is a good, plain pound cake. My parents and my niece and I all have late august bdays so we celebrate together. I may not get my cake for my bday, so I’m making it myself. I’ve been craving it for at least a week!

Ok…back to the cake.

Everything is going as usual, but this is a new recipe. I didn’t want to go the store for ingredients, and I found a recipe on joyofbaking.com that allowed me to stay home and bake. Because I’m baking, I followed the recipe to the letter. I poured the batter into my loaf pan, and threw it in the oven. Recipe says to bake 50-60 minutes.

AFter about 20 minutes, my oven is smoking!!!! I pull open the door to find that the cake has risen over top of the pan and dripping onto the coils below. Oh my, what to do? I immediately grab a non stick cookie sheet to put on the bottom rack to catch what else may billow over, but what do i do about the smoking pieces already in the bottom of the oven? I just left it.

Another 20 minutes later….I pull open the door to check on my cake. This is what I found!IMG_0422

notice the sunken center…..

I mean, I love Japanese style sunken gardens, but sunken pound cake? Not so fond of this!

I let it continue to bake, maybe it’ll still taste good? I pulled it out of the oven and drape a cloth over top of it to cool til morning. I wanted it for breakfast!

This morning, I woke up to try my sunken cake. IMG_0424

Not a pretty site, but like I said…I’ve been craving so I tried it….and threw it away!

I have failed miserably! I must mention, I love to cook and I’m very good at it….so this is a punch in the face to my ego!

Maybe I’ll get a pound cake when we celebrate!

 

One Response to “Oh my!”

  1. Jen Says:

    That’s hilarious! Somewhere in the Ryschon archives there exists a picture of the world’s most pathetic angel food cake attempt. Doesn’t matter, though. I love to cook, too! Good fun! Even the trial and error parts!


Leave a Reply

